Home | Drivers | Owners | Tracks | Sprint Cup | Xfinity | CWTS | KNPSW | KNPSE | IndyCar | ARCA | F1 | Tudor | Random
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):
    Race Results     Qualifying Results   Loop Data Stats   Pit Stops
  Comments (34)   Video Links (0)     Crew Chiefs  

1981 Daytona 500 crew chiefs

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track

NASCAR Winston Cup race number 2 of 31
Sunday, February 15, 1981 at Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, FL
200 laps on a 2.500 mile paved track (500.0 miles)

Time of race: 2:56:50
Average Speed: 169.651 mph
Pole Speed: 194.624 mph
Cautions: 4 for 18 laps
Margin of Victory: 3.5 sec
Attendance: 130,000
Lead changes: 48

Glossary    1981 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1981 standings

Crew Chiefs for this race:
NbrDriverOwnerCarCrew Chief
1   Buddy Baker   Hoss EllingtonOldsmobile   Sheldon Pittman
2   Dale Earnhardt   Rod OsterlundPontiac   Doug Richert
3   Richard Childress   Richard ChildressPontiac   Kirk Shelmerdine
9   Bill Elliott   George ElliottFord   Ernie Elliott
11   Darrell Waltrip   Junior JohnsonBuick   Tim Brewer
15   Benny Parsons   Bud MooreFord   Bud Moore
16   David Pearson   Joel HalpernChevrolet   Harold Fagan
21   Neil Bonnett   Wood BrothersFord   Len Wood
22   Stan Barrett   Hal NeedhamPontiac   Travis Carter
23   Geoffrey Bodine   Dick BahrePontiac   Dick Bahre
27   Cale Yarborough   M.C. AndersonOldsmobile   David Ifft
28   Bobby Allison   Harry RanierPontiac   Waddell Wilson
41   Dick Brooks   Billy MatthewsBuick   Steve Redding
42   Kyle Petty   Petty EnterprisesBuick   Mike Beam
43   Richard Petty   Petty EnterprisesBuick   Dale Inman
44   Terry Labonte   Billy HaganBuick   Darrell Bryant
47   Harry Gant   Jack BeebeBuick   Bob Johnson
51   A.J. Foyt   A.J. FoytOldsmobile   Ron Puryear
67   Buddy Arrington   Buddy ArringtonDodge   Joey Arrington
71   Dave Marcis   Dave MarcisOldsmobile   Claude Queen
75   Joe Millikan   RahMoc EnterprisesBuick   Bob Rahilly
88   Ricky Rudd   DiGardOldsmobile   Jake Elder
98   Johnny Rutherford   Ron BenfieldPontiac   Buddy Parrott
99   Tim Richmond   D.K. UlrichBuick   Dennis Connor

A note about crew chief data:   Crew chief data has been compiled from various sources and is unverified in some cases.  If you find an error or can fill in missing data please contact us.   Thanks!