Home | Drivers | Owners | Tracks | Sprint Cup | Xfinity | CWTS | KNPSW | KNPSE | IndyCar | ARCA | F1 | Tudor | Random
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):
    Race Results     Qualifying Results   Loop Data Stats   Pit Stops
  Comments (5)   Video Links (0)     Crew Chiefs
Page Sponsorship ($5)

1969 Southern 500

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track

NASCAR Grand National race number 41 of 54
Monday, September 1, 1969 at Darlington Raceway, Darlington, SC
367 laps* on a 1.375 mile paved track (504.6 miles)

Time of race: 2:59:40
Average Speed: 105.612 mph
Pole Speed: 151.985 mph
Cautions: 7 for 85 laps
Margin of Victory: 1 cl
Attendance: 68,000
Lead changes: 20

Glossary    1969 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1969 standings

Fin St # Driver Sponsor / Owner Car Laps Money Status Led
1 498   LeeRoy Yarbrough Junior Johnson'69 Ford23021,800running82
2 517   David Pearson Holman-Moody'69 Ford23012,250running38
3 26   Buddy Baker Cotton Owens'69 Dodge2306,700running12
4 327   Donnie Allison Banjo Matthews'69 Ford2273,325running1
5 922   Bobby Allison Mario Rossi'69 Dodge2252,750running4
6 788   Charlie Glotzbach Nichels Engineering   (Ray Nichels)'69 Dodge2242,000running0
71132   Dick Brooks Dick Brooks'69 Plymouth2231,825running0
81431   Buddy Young Fred Bear'67 Chevrolet2221,800running0
9 643   Richard Petty East Tenn. Motors   (Petty Enterprises)'69 Ford2201,600running0
10 814   Richard Brickhouse Bill Ellis'69 Dodge2202,000running0
111849   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'68 Plymouth2191,450running0
121561   Hoss Ellington Ellington Insulation Co.   (Hoss Ellington)'69 Ford2181,350running0
133206   Neil Castles Neil Castles'69 Dodge2151,450running0
143546   Roy Mayne Tom Hunter'69 Chevrolet2111,250running0
152296   Frank Warren Frank Warren'68 Ford2101,250running0
163125   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'68 Plymouth2091,475running0
173034   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'67 Ford2091,150running0
182447   Cecil Gordon Bill Seifert'68 Ford2081,125running0
192515   Ed Hessert Ed Hessert'69 Plymouth2081,175running0
202376   Ben Arnold Don Culpepper'68 Ford2071,075running0
21104   John Sears L.G. DeWitt'69 Ford2041,100engine0
22380   J.C. Spradley E.C. Reid'67 Chevrolet2031,075running0
233351   Dub Simpson Bill Strong'69 Chevrolet2021,050running0
242810   Bill Champion Bill Champion'68 Ford194975running0
253470   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'67 Buick1931,000running0
261664   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'68 Ford190925crash0
274033   Earl Brooks Wayne Smith'69 Chevrolet183900crash0
281248   James Hylton Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'69 Dodge165975engine2
29 121   Cale Yarborough 60 Minute Cleaners   (Wood Brothers)'69 Mercury1432,475crash81
302936   H.B. Bailey H.B. Bailey'69 Pontiac130825engine0
312707   Coo Coo Marlin Cunningham-Kelley   (H.B. Cunningham)'69 Chevrolet78825engine0
323904   Ken Meisenhelder Ken Meisenhelder'67 Oldsmobile47825flagged0
331730   Dave Marcis Milt Lunda'69 Dodge43975steering10
34137   Bobby Johns Shorty Johns'67 Chevrolet28725crash0
35268   Ed Negre G.C. Spencer'67 Plymouth26750crash0
362108   E.J. Trivette E.C. Reid'69 Chevrolet26675crash0
37209   Roy Tyner Roy Tyner'69 Pontiac26650water pump0
381945   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'68 Ford8650engine0
393619   Henley Gray Harry Melton'68 Ford1665engine0
403757   Bobby Mausgrover Ervin Pruitt'67 Dodge1650engine0
* Race shortened to 230 laps due to rain/darkness.

Failed to qualify or withdrew:
Earl Brooks26Earl BrooksFord
Wayne Smith33Wayne SmithChevrolet
WDBob Ashbrook12Pete HazelwoodFord

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Cale Yarborough12929
  James Hylton30312
  Dave Marcis324110
  Cale Yarborough426726
  LeeRoy Yarbrough689326
  Bobby Allison94974
  Cale Yarborough9811922
  Buddy Baker1201201
  LeeRoy Yarbrough12113818
  Cale Yarborough1391424
  Donnie Allison1431431
  LeeRoy Yarbrough14415916
  David Pearson1601601
  LeeRoy Yarbrough1611688
  David Pearson16919426
  LeeRoy Yarbrough1952017
  David Pearson2022021
  Buddy Baker20321311
  LeeRoy Yarbrough2142196
  David Pearson22022910
  LeeRoy Yarbrough2302301